Ann M. Callaway

Image of Ann Callaway not yet available

Ann Callaway is an American composer, and the recipient of several notable awards. She has contributed several works to the clarinet and auxiliary clarinet repertory, including but not limited to a bass clarinet concerto, a trio for clarinet, cello, and piano, and an unaccompanied solo for contrabass clarinet.

Contact Ann Callaway

Ann Marie Callaway (b. 1949)

Ann Marie Callaway (born October 28, 1949) is an American composer.

Callaway was born in Washington, D.C., and grew up in Baltimore, and began her musical training under Grace Newsom Cushman. She studied with Alvin Etler at Smith CollegeGeorge Crumb at University of Pennsylvania and with Jack BeesonFred Lerdahl and George Edwards at Columbia University, where she earned her D.M.A. in 1991.

Callaway’s compositions have been widely broadcast in the U.S., and she is the subject of a documentary produced by Swedish Radio. She has received a Guggenheim Fellowship, commissions from the National Endowment for the Arts and the American Guild of Organists, and has held residencies at Yaddo, the MacDowell Colony and the Leighton Artist Colony in Banff.[1] She is a recipient of the Fred Waring Award,[2] and the Miriam Gideon Prize.[3]

In 1984 Callaway was one of the founders of the New York Women Composers, Inc., an organization that supports women composers in the State of New York and the Greater New York City area through catalogs, events and grants.[4]

Callaway has composed several notable works for the clarinet, and bass clarinet, listed in the below section. Most of her music is published by Subito Music, and other works you can purchase by contacting her directly. Read more of her biography, from which the above is excerpted, on, or, visit her website at


Concerto for Bass Clarinet and Chamber Orchestra | 1987
Rental score and parts available through Subito Music

Devachan | 1992
Flute/alto flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, 1 percussion
Purchase at Subito Music

The Memory Palace | 2006
Clarinet, cello, piano trio
Purchase at Subito Music

Contraption | 1991
Unaccompanied contrabass clarinet
Contact the composer for a score

Stay Informed! Sign up to receive word when we add new composers or works to our catalogue.

  1. Callaway, Ann Marie, retrieved October 13, 2015
  2. Music Clubs Magazine48, 1969, retrieved October 13, 2015
  3. IAWM Journal6–7, The Alliance, 2000, retrieved October 13, 2013
  4. New York Women Composers, Inc., retrieved May 15, 2014
Publication date:

This page was last updated 2/24/2022

About us

We are dedicated to the preservation and performance of music by women.


This website is primarily managed by Charlotte Kies, DMA.



%d bloggers like this: